Reactions and Reflections (a short chapter in the life of Maya)

 

OMG! oh, Maya Goldman

It all started in February 2010, on a family ski vacation in Colorado. I was sitting in the back of the car on our way to dinner one night, when, being the nosy eleven year old I was, I heard my mother say, “Trip around the world.”

 

“What? Huh? Who’s taking a trip around the world?” My parents shared a look ( you know, one of those annoying glances of parental telepathy), and my mother said,

“Us. We are going to take a trip around the world in two years, when you’re in eighth grade. But don’t say ANYTHING TO ANYONE about this yet because it’s still quite up in the air.” (author’s note: This is what my brain translated whatever she really said into). Well, that sentence did not please me one bit.

“Exscuse me? Are you saying that we are just going to drop EVERYTHING and travel for an ENTIRE YEAR? What about my friends? School? How can I carry a year’s worth of books around the world?” Cue the water works. I was horrified at the mere thought of being with no one but my parents and sisters for an entire year. I burst into tears, sobbing about how horrible my life was. Were my parents serious about this? (Looking back, I can see how self centered and selfish this sounds. Please don’t judge me on this impulsive reaction. I promise, I am a very kind person.)

Well, apparently they were serious. I am actually pretty excited about this trip now, almost a year after the “Car Episode”. I mean, who wouldn’t want to have a year off of regular school? Of course, my mom is still going to homeschool me, but I’ll get to sleep in and experience things every day that most people never do or see in their entire lives! Sure, I’m angry about leaving my friends and cousins, but we can always Skype. And I’ll probably be able to get a Kindle to provide me plenty of books. I guess that next year won’t be too bad after all.

Categories: Pre-Trip | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Reactions and Reflections (a short chapter in the life of Maya)

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Kareen Donegan

    I am just logging on so I can get emails- I have to read what you have already written when I am home!

  3. bonnie hollander

    Have a wonderful trip! I look forwarding to following your family’s adventures on your blog.

  4. Nancy Efrusy

    Maya….it is very apparent that you have a gift for writing! You should start your first novel on this trip. Enjoy Goldmans!

  5. Scott Stern

    So exciting! Can’t wait to hear all the adventures. See you in Paris!!

    Scott

  6. Hi guys!
    i am officially signed up and ready to receive updates…as in – how is everyone doing the night before departure???
    Safe travels!!
    xo
    l

  7. Julie Flapan

    If you guys end up on the continent of California — you always have a place to stay with the Flapan-Feig Family! We’d love to see you and hear all about your travels!!!!
    xoxo julie + andy = e3 (ella * ezra * eytan)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

